The Ice Was All Between

Watts Up With That?

Guest Post by Willis Eschenbach

I do my best to maintain my sense of awe regarding the things I study. I’ve had the good fortune in my life to be a commercial fisherman on the Bering Sea, and to voyage and fish on the edges of the Arctic ice. To me, sea ice, whether fixed to the shore or free-floating, is an awesome sight. As the poet said almost two hundred years ago,

And now there came both mist and snow,
And it grew wondrous cold:
And ice, mast-high, came floating by,
As green as emerald.

And through the drifts the snowy clifts
Did send a dismal sheen:
Nor shapes of men nor beasts we ken—
The ice was all between.

As I sift through the layers of dusty numbers and I work to understand the intricacies of the weather, I strive to maintain that sense of wonder at the scope and scale…

View original post 364 more words

Leave a Reply

